Events

Webinar: March 17th, Thursday

2 – 3 p.m. ET || 1 – 2 p.m. CT || 12 – 1 p.m. MT || 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. PT

US South loses critical CDC HIV prevention funding for community-based organizations: Get the facts and take action!

sasilargelogo with name                                                                   SAC logo white background hiv pja logo

Thursday, March 17
2 – 3 p.m. ET || 1 – 2 p.m. CT || 12 – 1 p.m. MT || 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. PT

Register today!

Whether you are talking about numbers of new diagnoses, HIV or AIDS rates, death rates, survival rates, or infection rates among women, young gay and bisexual men, African Americans, Latinos, or transgender persons, the path to ending the HIV epidemic domestically must go through the U.S. South. Join the Southern AIDS Strategy Initiative (SASI), Southern AIDS Coalition (SAC) and the HIV Prevention Justice Alliance (HIV PJA) to learn how recent CDC funding for community-based organizations (CBOs) fails to follow the HIV epidemic.

This webinar will break down SASI’s analysis on the impact and misalignment of CDC prevention funding, with a community perspective about the impact of CDC’s funding decisions upon hard-hit areas of the South.  Webinar attendees will learn about concrete action steps that you can take to make your views known to the CDC and demand they restore critical funding to CBOs in the South.

Presenters include:
Carolyn McAllaster, Director, Southern AIDS Strategy Initiative (SASI)
Valerie Mincey, Executive Director, BASIC NW Florida

Register now!

________________________________________________

Background resources:

__________________________________________________________

AIDS Watch 2016 logo

AIDSWatch is the nation’s largest annual constituent-based national HIV/AIDS advocacy event, bringing together hundreds of people living with HIV and their allies to meet with Members of Congress and to educate them about the important issues at stake for people living with HIV/AIDS in the United States. AIDSWatch 2016 will take place February 29 – March 1, 2016 in Washington D.C.

Register for AIDS Watch 2016 HERE.

sasilargelogo with name                                      SAC Glass Logo 2-11-16

 

Please join SASI and the Southern AIDS Coalition at AIDS Watch 2016.

Washington Court Hotel, 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC 20001

(Springwood Rooms).   February 29, 2016.   2:00 – 3:15 p.m.  

SASI/SAC meeting: HIV in the US South       

 Agenda 

  • Review of latest SASI research related to HIV in the US South;
  • Discussion of and input into SASI/SAC policy advocacy agenda;
  • Preparation for Congressional visits:
    • Distribution of Southern State-based fact sheets (including Ryan White, HOPWA and CDC funding)

 

View past events here.